Bujinkan (武神館) is a martial arts organization headed out of Noda-shi, Japan and is comprised of 9 separate classical combat systems, (3) Ninjutsu and (6) Samurai ryūha (schools).

NINJUTSU 忍術 sometimes used interchangeably with the term ninpō 忍法 is a several centuries old martial art that employs the strategy and tactics of the feudal Ninja.

Griffith Park Bujinkan instructors are licensed by Dr. Masaaki Hatsumi, the head of the international Bujinkan martial arts organization based in Japan and travel regularly to Japan and abroad to train with the Grandmaster Masaaki Hatsumi, the Japanese Dai Shihan’s, and other chief instructors around the globe.

The 9 schools are listed below and consist of unarmed and armed (swords, sticks, and many other traditional Japanese weapons) classical martial art techniques.

1. Gyokko ryū Kosshi jutsu (玉虎流骨指術)

The foundations of the Jeweled Tiger school (Gyokko Ryu) of the Bujinkan, is said to have arrived in Japan from China during the Tang Dynasty (618 AD – 907 AD). This school specializes in techniques that involve muscle attacks (Kosshijutsu) that take the opponents balance. Our formal lineage with this school dates back to 1159, to coincide with the invention of the Japanese sword (Tachi) and the European Crusades. As part of the core curriculum in the Bujinkan system, the five levels of the Gyokko Ryu Samurai system are studied and adapted to modern self-defense situations.

A couple of example videos include:

Ketsu Myaku, translated as “squeeze the pulse”, this Gyokko Ryu technique is demonstrated here as a Haibu Yori in response to counter a choke from behind (sangyaku jime).

Gyaku Nagare, translated as “reverse flow”, this Gyokko Ryu technique is demonstrated here in response to a fist attack.


2. Togakure-ryu Ninpo Taijutsu (戸隠流忍法体術)

After surviving his clans defeat more than 800 years ago, the Samurai Daisuke Togakure founded the Hidden Door school (a.k.a. Togakure Ryu Ninjutsu) in 1161. As a complete unarmed and weapons fighting system, this school specializes in methods of using stealth in hostile situations. During Japans warring period (Muromachi Bakufu), Military commanders employed practitioners of this school as intelligence gathering agents (special forces). Core techniques involve survival by avoiding violence (non-detection), situational escapes, concealment, disguise, and misdirection. Weapons specializations include sword fighting techniques (Bikenjutsu), sword drawing techniques (Iaijutsu), ensnaring ring-rope-blade (Kyoketsu Shoge), sickle-chain (Kusarigama), throwing blades/spikes (Shuriken Jutsu), archery (Kyujutsu) and much more.

A couple of example videos coming soon


3. Shinden Fudo Ryū Dakentai jutsu (神伝不動流打拳体術)

With its founding dating back to 1162, the Shinden Fudo Ryu system specializes in striking techniques (Dakentaijutsu), and grappling techniques (Jutaijutsu). This Samurai self-defense system consists of grappling, strikes, kicks, and throws. Focusing on natural movement and the study of nature, this system specializes in defeating stronger opponents by feigning weakness.

A couple of example videos coming soon


4. Kuki Shinden Ryū Happō Bikenjutsu (九鬼神伝流八法秘剣術)

Founded in the beginning of Japans Muromachi era (1336), the Kuki Shinden Samurai School became famous for its military tactics and largescale battlefield weapons techniques. Including: spear (Yarijutsu), swords/knives (Bikenjutsu/Tantojutsu), staff/polearms (Rokushakubo/Hanbo), bladed polearm (Naginatajutsu), chain and weight (Manriki Kusari), and more. Today, the techniques derived from wearing armor (Samurai Yoroi) and using battlefield weapons and situations are studied and adapted to modern self-defense situations. Greatly enhancing Bujinkan practitioners sense of distance and timing.

A couple of example videos include: (coming soon)


5. Koto Ryū Koppō jutsu (虎倒流骨法術)  

Founded in 1550 during Japans Warring States period (1453-1603, Sengoku Jidai), the Tiger Falling school (Koto Ryu) focuses on effecting an opponent’s skeletal/bone structure (Koppojutsu) to off balance and defeat armed and unarmed assailants. Derived while wearing battlefield armor (Samurai Yoroi), this core Bujinkan school contains a unique cross-stepping footwork and unusual sword technique.

A couple of example videos include:

Kata Maki, translated as “one side coil/entagle”, this Koto Ryu technique is demonstrated here as a response to counter a fist attack (Shoden no Gata).

Setto, translated as “break and drop”, this Koto Ryu technique is demonstrated here in as a single hand (Katate Dori) response/counter to being grabbed (Shoden no Gata).


6. Takagi Yoshin Ryu Jutai jutsu (高木揚心流柔体術)

Founded in 1711 during Tokugawa era, the Takagi Yoshin school is the youngest of the schools in the Bujinkan program. Known as the “bodyguard school”, this Samurai system specializes in grappling and throwing techniques and is known for its unarmed combat at close range and against swords/knives.

A few example videos include:

Gokuraku Otoshi, translated as “heaven throw”, this Jutaijutsu technique is demonstrated here in response to being thrown (Nage Kaeshi).

Tengu Dori, translated as “goblin break”, Tengu Dori is shown here as a Jutaijutsu submission technique that is executed while behind the opponent. As part of the basics of the Takagi Yoshin Ryu Shoden Ura Waza, this technique technique forces the opponent into submission.

Negashi, translated as “flow”, Nagashi is shown here as a Jutaijutsu throw response to a fist attack (tsuki). As part of the basics of the Takagi Yoshin Ryu Shoden Ura Waza, this technique technique continues the momentum of the attack to off balance the opponent.


7. Gikan Ryu Koppo jutsu (義鑑流骨法術)  

(info coming soon)

8. Gyokushin-ryū Ryū Ninpō (玉心流忍法)

(info coming soon)

 9. Kumogakure Ryū Ninpō (雲隠流忍法)

(info coming soon)

Ninpo techniques emphasize stealth and deception and employ any available weapons in self-defense.

The six major types of training include:

1. Striking techniques (Dakentaijutsu).

2. Grappling: throws, locks, chokes (Jutaijutsu).

3. Skeletal manipulation (Koppojutsu).

4. Muscular & nervous system attacks (Kosshijutsu).

5. Body movement counter/avoid techniques (Taihenjutsu).

6. Weapons: traditional, contemporary tools & nature as extension of body (Bukijutsu).